2013 New England Public Radio Art Mug

art mug

Submit Your Design for the 2013 New England Public Radio Art Mug!

New England Public Radio is seeking submissions from local artists for our 8th Annual Art Mug! The limited-edition mug will be available to New England Public Radio’s contributing listeners during the station’s on-air fund drives from September 2013 through June 2014.

What do New England Public Radio and the NEPR News Network (WNNZ) mean to you? We’re looking for a design created exclusively for New England Public Radio that reflects your interpretation or appreciation of the station, our programming, or even our home in western New England. We welcome all submissions from collage, to pen and ink, to photography – as long as it translates well on a coffee mug! The winning design will be posted on our website and will also be described over the air during the pledge drive for our listeners. If your design references the station by name, please be sure to use “New England Public Radio”

The design chosen for the mug will be decided in-house at New England Public Radio and the chosen artist will be notified the third week of September.

The deadline for submission is September 20, 2013.

Please mail your submission to: Vanessa Cerillo – New England Public Radio – Hampshire House – 131 County Circle – Amherst, MA 01003-9257 or via email to vcerillo@nepr.net. Include your name, address, email, phone number, and where you saw this opportunity listed.

Questions? Contact Vanessa Cerillo at 413-545-9717 or vcerillo@nepr.net.

Design Specifications:

  • The printing space is 4 1/8 inches high and 8 5/8 inches wide. The image will wrap around the mug almost from handle to handle.

  • The artwork will be affixed to the mug from a paper decal and kiln fired so the artwork’s colors are preserved. This is a four color sublimation process.

  • A caption such as “designed for New England Public Radio by … 2013″ must be included. It can run along the edge of the artwork (within the printing space) or be incorporated into the design.

  • We request that a design be exclusively made for New England Public Radio and that we retain the original art for the station’s permanent collection.

See below for examples of the designs chosen in the last six years.

2013 Winner – Jan Šabach

2012 art mug

2012 Winner – Alexandra Lynch

2012 art mug

2011 Winner – Kim Rosen

Kim Rosen art mug 2011

2010 Winner – Claudette Lambert Peterson

2009 Winner – Stephen Petegorsky

2008 Winner – Sarah Adam

2007 Winner – Standard Design

2006 Winner – Nancy Haver