Basketball Hall Of Fame Enshrinement Festivites Coming Up In Springfield

The Basketball Hall of Fame is preparing to hold its annual enshrinement festivities in Springfield starting Thursday. This year’s class of honorees range from NBA stars to perhaps the first dynasty of women’s college basketball.

Alonzo Mourning was a 7-time NBA All-Star and won a World Championship with the Miami Heat in 2006. The 16-year pro was a 2-time NBA defensive player of the year and earned several honors while playing in college at Georgetown.

Mitch Richmond is a two-time Olympian who averaged more than 20 points a game, ten years in a row during his professional career. He was a 6-time all-star, 1989 NBA Rookie of the Year and picked up a title with the Los Angeles Lakers.

Also entering the hall of fame is the entire Immaculata University women’s team from the 1970’s. This program racked up 3 national titles early in the decade and sported a gaudy 60 win, 2 loss record during that time. Three members of the team already are in the hall as individuals.

Others being enshrined are professional players Sarunas Marciulionis and Nat Clifton, former NBA Commissioner David Stern, retired college coaches Nolan Richardson and Gary Williams, pro coach Bob Leonard and college star player Guy Rodgers.